Maps of Maine

Mark wiens


Covering an area of 91,646 sq. km, the State of Maine is located in the north-eastern (New England) region of the United States.

As observed on the map, Maine is divided into three distinct areas: the Atlantic Ocean Coastal Lowlands, the Central Uplands, and the mountain ranges of the Appalachian Mountains in the north-western reaches of the state.

The states major range is the scattered Longfellow Mountains, which are considered to be an extension of New Hampshires White Mountains. They were named by the Maine Legislature (in 1959) to honor the famous poet and the native son - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.

Marked on the map by an upright yellow triangle and situated in the east-central part of the state, within the boundaries of Baxter State Park is Mt. Katahdin - the states highest point, which rises to an elevation of 5,268ft (1,606m).

Northcentral, deep water lakes that are remnants of the last Ice Age, cover major areas of the state. They mix with the seemingly endless pine forests, as Maine is 90% forested, and remains one of the worlds leading producers of paper. The significant lakes include Moosehead Lake (the largest in Maine), Sebago, Richardson, Flagstaff, Chamberlain, Pemadumcook, Eagle, and Long Lakes. The significant rivers of the state include the Androscoggin, Kennebec, Penobscot, St. Croix, Piscataquis, Aroostock, Allagash, Saco, and St. John.

The jagged, and rockbound Atlantic Ocean coastline in the southern part of the state, is a mixture of bay, inlets, sandy beaches, and thousands of odd-shaped islands. The states lowest point is the Atlantic Ocean (0ft).

The State of Maine is divided into 16 counties. In alphabetical order, these counties are: Androscoggin, Aroostook, Cumberland, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Sagadahoc, Somerset, Waldo, Washington, York.

With an area of 91,646 sq. km, Maine is the 12thsmallest and the 9thleast populous state in the USA. Located in Kennebec County is Augusta - the capital city of Maine. It is also the third least populated state capital in the US.  Situated in Cumberland County is Portland - the largest and the most populous city in Maine.  It also serves as an important economic center of the state and the Port of Portland is the New England regions biggest tonnage seaport.

The State of Maine is located in the north-eastern (New England) region of the United States. Maine is bordered by the state of New Hampshire in the west; by the Atlantic Ocean in the southeast and by the Canadian provinces of New Brunswick in the northeast and by Quebec in the northwest.

The above blank map represents the State of Maine, located in the north-eastern (New England) region of the United States. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities.

The above outline map represents the State of Maine, located in the north-eastern (New England) region of the United States. It is colloquially known as the Pine Tree State, as about 90% of the states total land area is covered by forests.

This page was last updated onFebruary 25, 2021

Andrew Jackson the 7th President of the United States

Teddy Roosevelt 26th President of the United States

Ronald Reagan - 40th President Of The United States

Dwight D. Eisenhower the 34th President of the United States

6 Most Charming River Towns in Northern California

How Long Would It Take To Travel To Each Planet?

All maps, graphics, flags, photos and original descriptions © 2023

Disclaimer: All information on this website is collected from the Internet, which does not represent our opinion. This website is not responsible for its authenticity and legitimacy. If any information violates your rights and interests, please inform us and we will deal with it immediately.